Spring Break alone

Andrew is in Chelan with his parents, and I am here.

I would feel better about being here if I didn’t have a raging case of PMS and a compelling need to figure out how to make more money.

The air is gushing out of the little financial cushion we had made together.

A week ago we were  looking at houses, and now we are trying to figure out how to pay for a car we don’t need or want because to get rid of it would be more expensive than keeping it.

And my unemployment money is gone. I am working, but not enough. The most depressing bit is that I would have to work full-time at minimum wage just to cover what I was making on unemployment. I’m not frustrated that I would have to work full-time, mind you. I’m just staring square in the face the fact that I left a good-paying job (however much I hated it) to work 12 hours a week as a secretary and with no prospects for anything better.

All this has descended like a cloud on me, and for the first time in a long time, I am alone trying to see some sunshine.

There is nothing he could do about it, but he always listens, and he knows how to make me feel better. But not today.

Leave a Reply

